Foxtrot (2017)
Smuggling Hendrix (2018)
The Distances (2018)
Lemonade (2018)
Sunday's Illness (2018)
Transit (2018)
Grain (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it


email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

EFP announces the jury for the 2017 European Shooting Stars


- Five film professionals will select the ten most promising young actors from across Europe for the 20th edition of the initiative

EFP announces the jury for the 2017 European Shooting Stars
Actress Dorka Gryllus, one of the jury members

European Film Promotion (EFP) has presented the European Shooting Stars jury for 2017. Hungarian actress and former Shooting Star Dorka Gryllus (Demimonde [+see also:
film profile
), British casting director Lucinda Syson (Batman Begins), Portuguese producer Pandora da Cunha Telles (Bridges of Sarajevo [+see also:
film review
film profile
), Swiss film director Xavier Koller (Journey of Hope), and Swedish film editor and critic Jan Lumholdt (Svenska Dagbladet) will bring their combined expertise in various fields of the creative filmmaking process to select the ten most promising young actors from across Europe.

At the upcoming Berlinale, European Film Promotion (EFP) will celebrate the 20th edition of its first, most prominent and influential initiative European Shooting Stars featuring Europe's most promising young acting talent. The event also marks the 20th anniversary of EFP, the leading association to promote European films worldwide, having been founded at the Berlinale in 1997. Since its first showcase at the festival in 1998, a total of 283 Shooting Stars have been presented at one of the most important international film festivals. For many of them, the event marked the starting point of their international career. The high profile of the programme - for which financial support is granted by the Creative Europe - MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the participating EFP members - is reflected in the names of some of the most prominent former Shooting Stars including Daniel Craig, Alicia Vikander, Matthias Schoenaerts, Carey Mulligan, Domhnall Gleeson, Maria Valverde, Daniel Brühl, Anamaria Marinca and Pilou Asbæk.

For the jury's consideration the EFP member organisations from across Europe have nominated their most promising acting talent. The lucky ten will be selected in early December, ahead of travelling to the upcoming Berlin International Film Festival, which runs from 9-19 February 2017.

For more information on the jury members, click here.

Basque Cannes
Ex Oriente Film
Jihlava Film Fund

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss