email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

CANNES 2019 Quinzaine des Réalisateurs

La Carrosse d'Or di Cannes per John Carpenter


- Il cineasta americano riceverà il 15 maggio sulla Croisette il riconoscimento assegnato ogni anno dalla Société des Réalisateurs de Films (SRF)

La Carrosse d'Or di Cannes per John Carpenter
Il regista John Carpenter (© Kyle Cassidy/Storm King Productions)

Questo articolo è disponibile in inglese.

US director John Carpenter will be the recipient of the Carrosse d’Or (also known as the Golden Coach) handed out by the French Directors’ Association (SRF), at the opening ceremony of the 51st Directors’ Fortnight, which will unspool from 15-25 May as an integral part of the 72nd Cannes Film Festival

Here are a few excerpts from the letter sent to John Carpenter by the SRF’s board of directors: “Each of your films enhances the irresistible delight of staging. In each of them, the work on space, on what is off-screen, on the visible and on the invisible, is constantly renewed and regenerated in order to redefine fear. A fear that is always prone to trigger emotions in characters and actors who have now become iconic: Kurt Russell in Escape from New York or The Thing, Jamie Lee Curtis in Halloween, Adrienne Barbeau in The Fog, Sam Neill in In The Mouth of Madness, without forgetting Karen Allen and Jeff Bridges in Starman, one of the most moving melodramas of the 1980s. You have the clear-sightedness of a lookout. This lucidity seems to us all the more essential at a time when consumerism and political drifts have reached the dreadful climax you already condemned in Escape from L.A.. While your great soundtracks keep inspiring the French electronic music scene, we as film directors would also wish to reaffirm our love for your work through a homage we hold so dear. We would thereby thank you for your fierce sense of humour, for the plastic strength of your films, their frenzied imagination and amazing wisdom.”

(L'articolo continua qui sotto - Inf. pubblicitaria)

Intended to reward a filmmaker chosen for the pioneering qualities of their films, their boldness, and the rigour of their direction and production, the Carrosse d’Or (which was first handed out in 2002) has, in the past, been awarded to Jacques RozierClint EastwoodNanni MorettiOusmane SembeneDavid CronenbergAlain CavalierJim JarmuschNaomi KawaseAgnès VardaJafar PanahiNuri Bilge CeylanJane CampionAlain ResnaisJia ZhangkeAki KaurismäkiWerner Herzog and Martin Scorsese.

(L'articolo continua qui sotto - Inf. pubblicitaria)

(Tradotto dal francese)

Ti è piaciuto questo articolo? Iscriviti alla nostra newsletter per ricevere altri articoli direttamente nella tua casella di posta.

Privacy Policy