email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Le 24e Festival international du court-métrage de Winterthur se termine en beauté


- L’événement, qui s’est tenu cette année entièrement en ligne, a vu le triomphe de This Day Won’t Last de Mouaad el Salem, qui a décroché le prestigieux Grand Prix

Le 24e Festival international du court-métrage de Winterthur se termine en beauté
Carbon de Davide Tisato (©

Cet article est disponible en anglais.

It’s a wrap for the 24th edition of Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur, one of the most important European events dedicated to short films. This year’s edition was held entirely online and ran from 3-8 November. The festival was brought to a close by the awards ceremony on 8 November, which saw the triumph of Mouaad el Salem’s This Day Won’t Last, recipient of the Grand Prize of the International Competition, namely a cash prize of 12,000 Swiss francs, donated by SRG SSR.

(L'article continue plus bas - Inf. publicitaire)

The international competition jury, made up of Coalmine – Raum für Fotografie’s curator Annette Amberg, independent curator Greg de Cuir Jr, Cannes Critics’ Week’s head of shorts Léo Soesanto, writer and filmmaker Oleksiy Radynski and visual artist Randa Maroufi awarded the Tunisian short with the following statement: “The Grand Prize of the festival goes to a film that is simultaneously sincere, simple, brutal, and political. Its creator goes through a gentle rebellion against the postcolonial legacy used by the dictatorship to standardise people’s lives, a rebellion promoting a sexual and cultural revolution. This essay film mobilises a cinematic language that is refreshing, familiar, and liberating at the same time.”

Meanwhile, the Swiss competition’s jury, consisting of Cineuropa’s own Marta Bałaga, Berlinale Talents’ programme manager Florian Weghorn and Dokufest’s artistic director Veton Nurkollari, awarded a cash prize of 10,000 Swiss francs (donated by Suissimage and SSA) to Davide Tisato’s Carbón, a French-Swiss co-production. The victory was accompanied by the following statement: “Please meet Nivardo and Ismael: in our nightly encounters with two outstanding gentlemen, this film introduces us to a world in transition. From piles of firewood to bags of charcoal and from burning revolutionary ideals to the warm glow of their present reality. This portrait of a lifelong friendship, both humorous and intimate, is captured in a truly artistic way and illuminated by its director. When he sheds light on the smoky darkness, it’s pure cinema!”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Grand Prize of the International Competition
This Day Won’t Last – Mouaad el Salem (Tunisia)

Promotional Award of the International Competition
Menarca / Menarche  – Lillah Halla (Brazil)

Prix George for the Best Documentary Form
A Passage – Felix Kalmenson and Rouzbeh Akhbari (Armenia)

Short Film Candidate - European Film Award (EFA)
Dustin – Naïla Guiguet (France)

Award for the Best Swiss Film
Carbón – Davide Tisato (France/Switzerland)

Award for the Best Swiss School Film
Supreme – Youssef Youssef (Switzerland)

Award for the Best Film in the programme Sparks I
The Golden Button – Alex Evstigneev (Russia)

Award for the Best Film in the programme Sparks II
Cultes – Brutti Debrouwer Harel (LA)HORDE (France)

Postproduction Award
Un Cielo Nublado - Remo Scherrer (Switzerland)

(L'article continue plus bas - Inf. publicitaire)

Vous avez aimé cet article ? Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et recevez plus d'articles comme celui-ci, directement dans votre boîte mail.

Privacy Policy