email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


European Film Awards to honour Werner Herzog


- The European Film Academy will present the German filmmaker with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 32nd awards ceremony in December

European Film Awards to honour Werner Herzog
Director Werner Herzog

On the occasion of this year's 32nd European Film Awards (EFAs) and in recognition of a unique contribution to the world of film, the European Film Academy will present Werner Herzog with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding body of work. Herzog will be an honorary guest at the 32nd European Film Awards ceremony on 7 December in Berlin, which will be streamed live on the awards website.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Born in Munich in 1942, Werner Herzog grew up in a remote valley in the Bavarian mountains. Until age 11, he did not even know of the existence of cinema. He started to develop film projects from age 15 on, and since no one was willing to finance them, he worked the night shift as a welder in a steel factory during the last years of high school. He also started to travel on foot. He made his first phone call at age 17 and his first film at 19. He dropped out of college where he studied history and literature. Since then, Werner Herzog has produced, written, and directed more than seventy feature and documentary films.

His 1968 debut film Signs of Life immediately won not only a Special Berlinale Silver Bear but also the German Film Award in Silver for an Outstanding Feature Film. In some of his most known films the main part was played by Klaus Kinski, among these the epic Aguirre, Wrath of God (1972), the horror film Nosferatu, the Vampyre (1979) and the adventure drama Fitzcarraldo (1982) which received the Best Director Award in Cannes. The often difficult relationship between actor and director was the focus of Herzog's documentary My Best Friend (1999) for which he received an EFA nomination.

His impressive oeuvre includes Every Man for Himself and God Against All (1974) which received the Grand Prize of the Cannes Jury, Lessons of Darkness (1992), Little Dieter Needs to Fly (1997), Invincible (2001), Grizzly Man (2005), Encounters at the End of the World (2009), Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call - New Orleans (2009) and Cave of Forgotten Dreams [+see also:
film profile
(2010). In addition, Herzog also acted himself, with notable roles including the father in Harmony Korine's experimental drama Julien Donkey-Boy (1999) and a criminal mastermind in the action film Jack Reacher (2012). Werner Herzog has published more than a dozen books of prose, and directed as many operas. He has also founded his own Rogue Film School.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy