email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Filminute 2018 announces its short list of ultrashort films


- The international one-minute online film festival has announced the 25 mini-masterpieces that will make up this year's selection

Filminute 2018 announces its short list of ultrashort films

Each year, Filminute presents a collection of the world’s best short films, each of which presents a complete story in exactly one minute. With 19 countries represented across 25 films, it's a powerful and diverse selection of cinema.

Out of those 25 movies, five will be part of the Cineuropa Audience Award and the Five Minute Challenge. Here we will invite Cineuropa readers to take five minutes out of their day to watch five European films and vote on their favourite. The eligible films will be announced later this week.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

“These films always give me a glimpse of the future of indie film,” said John Ketchum, co-founder and executive director of Filminute. “The directors whose works we screen are resourceful and inventive. What they accomplish with their one-minute films never fails to fill me with optimism about the future of independent film and shows how great stories can have an impact.”

This year, the international Filminute jury consists of Chilean filmmaker Sebastián Lelio, winner of the 2017 Oscar for Best Foreign-language Film; award-winning Colombian writer Juan Gabriel VásquezFIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) vice-president and London-based film critic Rita Di Santo; pioneering American agent-manager-producer Nikki Weiss-Goldstein; Nigerian-Pakistani filmmaker and film entrepreneur Iram Parveen Bilal; Iranian director Kaveh Jahed, winner of last year’s Best Filminute Award; Filminute co-founder Sabaa Quao; and Filminute co-founder, executive director and jury head John Ketchum.

The festival runs from 1-30 October. Voting is open until midnight, 30 October. The Filminute winners and awards will be announced on 4 November.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy