Custody (2017)
The Prayer (2018)
After the War (2017)
9 Fingers (2017)
The Captain (2017)
Foxtrot (2017)
Bloody Milk (2017)
Choose your language en | es | fr | it

CANNES 2018 Jury

email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+

Cate Blanchett to chair the jury at Cannes


- The Australian actress is to be President of the Jury of the 71st edition of the festival, which will be taking place from 8 to 18 May 2018

Cate Blanchett to chair the jury at Cannes
(© Steven Chee)

Australian actress Cate Blanchett is to be President of the Jury of the Cannes Film Festival, the 71st edition of which will be taking place from 8 to 18 May 2018. Cate Blanchett follows Pedro Almodóvar, Jury President of the 70th edition, whose jury awarded the Palme d’or to The Square [+see also:
film review
film focus
interview: Ruben Östlund
film profile
 by Swedish director Ruben Östlund.

Cate Blanchett is one of those actors for whom performing is a permanent delight, whatever the role she takes to stage or screen. In film, always under the eye of great directors, she switches between independent ventures and lavish productions, and appears in the credits of all notable contemporary English-language cinema: Blue Jasmine by Woody Allen, The Aviator by Martin ScorseseCarol [+see also:
film profile
and I'm Not There by Todd Haynes, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by David FincherBabel by Alejandro González Iñárritu, The Lord of the Rings trilogy by Peter JacksonVeronica Guerin by Joel Schumacher, Elizabeth and Elizabeth: The Golden Age [+see also:
film profile
 by Shekhar Kapur, and many more. 

Cannes Film Festival President Pierre Lescure and General Delegate Thierry Frémaux, said: "We are delighted to welcome such a rare and unique artist whose talent and convictions enrich both screen and stage. Our conversations from this autumn tell us she will be a committed President, a passionate woman and a big-hearted spectator.” Cate Blanchett said, "I am humbled by the privilege and responsibility of presiding over this year's jury. This festival plays a pivotal role in bringing the world together to celebrate story; that strange and vital endeavour that all peoples share, understand and crave."

Before Blanchett, the women who have chaired the jury of the Cannes Film Festival are Olivia de Havilland in 1965, Sofia Loren in 1966, Michèle Morgan in 1971, Ingrid Bergman in 1973, Jeanne Moreau in 1975 and 1995, Françoise Sagan in 1979, Isabelle Adjani in 1997, Liv Ullmann in 2001, Isabelle Huppert in 2009 and Jane Campion in 2014.

(Translated from French)

Contest Savoia
Swiss Films DocsSpring

latest news


more news


Follow us on

facebook twitter rss