email print share on facebook share on twitter share on google+


Le Festival de Galway annonce ses gagnants


- Parmi les films primés : Gutland de Govinda Van Maele, The Dig de Ryan et Andrew Tohill et Cellar Door de Viko Nikci

Le Festival de Galway annonce ses gagnants
Gutland de Govinda Van Maele

Cet article est disponible en anglais.

It’s a wrap for the 30th edition of the Galway Film Fleadh, the Republic of Ireland’s leading film festival. Yesterday, Sunday 15 July, the event came to a close after a raft of Irish and world premieres, special screenings, master classes and industry meetings. The closing ceremony took place before the screening of Lance Daly's Black 47 [+lire aussi :
fiche film
at the Town Hall Theatre and was attended by President of Ireland Michael D Higgins

(L'article continue plus bas - Inf. publicitaire)

This year's edition saw the triumph of Ryan and Andrew Tohill's The Dig, the winner of the Award for Best Irish Feature, and Simon FellowsSteel Country, the recipient of the Award for Best International Feature. The Tohill brothers' thriller tells the story of a murderer (Moe Dunford) who searches for his victim’s body in an Irish bog after being released from prison. Meanwhile, Fellows' film stars Andrew Scott as Donald, a local sanitation truck driver who begins an obsessive search for a young boy who has disappeared in a backwoods town. Other prestigious awards were bestowed upon Govinda Van Maele's surrealistic rural noir Gutland [+lire aussi :
fiche film
(Best International First Feature), Viko Nikci's drama Cellar Door (Best Irish First Feature) and Thomas Morgan's documentary about refugee Mariam Shaar Soufra (Best International Feature Documentary).

Here is the complete list of award winners at the 2018 Galway Film Fleadh:

Best International Short Documentary
 - Olivia Kastebring, Julia Gumpert and Ulrika Bandeira (Sweden)

Best International Short Fiction
What Happened to Evie
 - Kate Cheeseman (UK)

Don Quixote Award for the Best Animated Short
Yunshí - James W Griffiths (UK) 

Best International Short Animation
The Driver Is Red
 - Randall Christopher (USA)

Best Short Documentary
 - Sean Mullan (UK)
Special Mention
Johnny - Hugh Rodgers (Ireland)

Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film
Boy Saint
 - Kevin Treacy (Ireland)

Best Short Animation Award
The Usual
– Eabha Bortolozzo and Jack Kirwan (Ireland)

Best First Short Fiction Film
Boy Saint
 – Tom Speers (Ireland)

Best International First Feature
 [+lire aussi :
fiche film
 - Govinda Van Maele (Luxembourg/Belgium/Germany/France)

Best International Feature Documentary
 - Thomas Morgan (USA/Lebanon) 

Best International Feature
Steel Country
 - Simon Fellows (UK/USA)

Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature
When All Is Ruin Once Again
 [+lire aussi :
fiche film
 - Keith Walsh

Best Irish Feature Documentary
- Ross Whitaker 

Best Irish First Feature
Cellar Door
 - Viko Nikci 

Best Irish Feature
The Dig
- Ryan and Andrew Tohill (Northern Ireland)

Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama
Wren Boys
 - Harry Lighton (UK) 

James Horgan Award for Best Animation
The Wiremen
 - Jessica Patterson (Ireland)

Bingham Ray New Talent Award
Jordanne Jones (actor) - Metal Heart (Ireland)

Best Human Rights Feature
Women of Venezuelan Chaos
 [+lire aussi :
fiche film
 - Margarita Cadenas (France/Venezuela)

(Traduit de l'anglais)

Vous avez aimé cet article ? Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et recevez plus d'articles comme celui-ci, directement dans votre boîte mail.