Film Reviews

2932 film reviews available in total starting from 04/09/2002. Last updated on 13/07/2018. 581 film reviews inserted in the last 12 months.

Suleiman Mountain by Elizaveta Stishova

09/07/2018

KARLOVY VARY 2018: The winner of Karlovy Vary’s East of the West competition is a blend of Kyrgyz folklore and family melodrama  

Suleyman gora

Suleyman gora

Yo la busco by Sara Gutiérrez Galve

06/07/2018

This first feature film by Sara Gutiérrez Galve focuses on a young man’s nocturnal stroll through Barcelona while struggling to find answers to life’s great questions  

Yo la busco

Yo la busco

Jean-François and the Meaning of Life by Sergi Portabella

06/07/2018

This ingenious first feature film by Sergi Portabella recounts an initiatory-existentialist journey in the form of an adventurous on-the-road film  

Jean-François y el sentido de la vida

Jean-François y el sentido de la vida

A Young Man with High Potential by Linus de Paoli

06/07/2018

Beneath its bland atmosphere, Linus de Paoli’s film, which world premiered at Munich, is radical and disturbing, just like its reclusive main character  

A Young Man with High Potential

A Young Man with High Potential

The Best Thing You Can Do with Your Life by Zita Erffa

06/07/2018

KARLOVY VARY 2018: Zita Erffa embarks on a deep personal journey into the realm of Orthodox Christianity to better understand her brother’s choice in a clever and thought-provoking debut documentary  

The Best Thing You Can Do with Your Life

The Best Thing You Can Do with Your Life

Miriam Lies by Oriol Estrada, Natalia Cabral

06/07/2018

KARLOVY VARY 2018: This Spanish-Dominican Republic co-production combines the talent of Natalia Cabral and Oriol Estrada, two promising directors born on either side of the Atlantic  

Miriam Miente

Miriam Miente

Breathing Into Marble by Giedre Beinoriute

06/07/2018

KARLOVY VARY 2018: A dark descent into a decaying family marks an auspicious debut for Lithuanian filmmaker Giedrė Beinoriūtė  

Kvepavimas i marmura

Kvepavimas i marmura

Winter Flies by Olmo Omerzu

06/07/2018

KARLOVY VARY 2018: Olmo Omerzu's third feature is an accomplished and engaging combination of boys' adventure and gritty Central European drama  

Zimske muhe

Zimske muhe

"I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians" by Radu Jude

06/07/2018

KARLOVY VARY 2018: Radu Jude’s new feature points an accusing finger at Romania’s obstinate Holocaust denial  

"Îmi este indiferent daca în istorie vom intra ca barbari"

"Îmi este indiferent daca în istorie vom intra ca barbari"

We Were Just Playing by Ann-Kristin Reyels

05/07/2018

Ann-Kristin Reyels tells the story of a child’s "empirical" discovery of a somewhat magical and yet brutal border zone  

Wir haben nur gespielt

Wir haben nur gespielt